Awards recognition

The Freedom of the Town

The Freedom of the Town award is the most prestigious award that the Council can bestow on an individual or group. Historically, it afforded special status to honour recipients, granting them privileges such as rights of pasture, free passage and trade control. This recognition is given to individuals or groups who show exceptional and continued dedication to the betterment of Trowbridge’s community. This award does not have a nomination process; however, if the council should award someone who deserves the highest recognition, please contact the Mayor.

Trevor Heeks – 2011

The Royal Regiment Artillery – 2014

Peter Fuller – 2022

Bob Brice – 2022

The Civic Award

The annual accolade is granted to individuals who have significantly benefited the community of Trowbridge. This recognition may be for direct or indirect community service, support of charitable initiatives within the town, personal accomplishments, selfless acts that have positively influenced the residents of Trowbridge, or endeavours that have advanced the town’s growth and welfare. Nomination forms for this honour can be found at the bottom of the page. The deadline for submissions is in January, and any received after this date will be considered for the following year. Nominees will be invited to the annual civic dinner.

Previous winners:

Robert Colebourne and Jill Neighbour, 2024

Sandra Blake, 2023

Kieran Thomas and Peta Knott, 2022

James Mac McDonald, 2020

David Baker, 2019

Maryrose Mantle – 2018

Sue Marshall – 2017

Major William Naesmyth of Posso – 2016

Partick Connor – 2015

Averil Beresford & Sally Taylor – 2014

Doug Ross – 2013

Mary Pearce – 2012

Jennifer Polledri – 2010

The Town Enhancement Award

The Town Enhancement Award is presented annually for a development or enhancement project that has improved the town in the previous year.

Developments may be a housing estate, a new building, the refurbishment of an existing building, a road improvement scheme, a landscaping scheme, or an environmental scheme, possibly including street furniture and flower beds. The main criterion is excellence.

Nomination forms are accepted year-round for the judging panel in January each year. Please ensure that the development is finished by the end of the previous year before the panel meets. All nominees will receive communication about scheduling a site visit with the panel. Additionally, all nominees will be invited to the civic dinner.

Previous winners:

Stone Development, The Ship Inn, Frome Road 2023

Parade House, Wicker Hill 2022

Former Margaret Stancomb School site, Selwood Housing, 2021

St. George’s Works, Gaiger Brothers, 2019

Red Gables, Ashford Homes 2018

Court Street – 2015

Newland Homes, usher brewery site – 2014

St Stephens Place – 2013

Trowbridge Library at County Hall – 2012

Newland Homes – Ushers Brewery & Selwood Housing Prospect Place – 2011

Selwood Housing, Prospect Place – 2009

Roundstone Surgery – 1992

The Mayors Award

This accolade recognises a person or group that has contributed to the support of the civic role. Nominations are not required; however, supporting officers and the mayor will assess potential recipients as needed.

Previous Winners

Kevin Hartley – 2023

The Grove Primary School Choir – 2024

Town Gathering Award: Celebrating Community

These awards aim to acknowledge individuals, groups, schools, clubs, organisations, or businesses for their accomplishments in the past year. Find the application form at the bottom of the page. The award categories include:

  • ‘Spirit of Youth’ (two age groups—13–18 years old and under-13s): Recognising positive role models who contribute to the community.
  • ‘Charity Fundraiser of the Year’: acknowledging innovative fundraising approaches rather than just the amount raised.
  • ‘Community Champion’: recognising individuals or groups for outstanding contributions to the local community.
  • ‘Green Award’: Highlighting efforts to enhance the town’s environmental sustainability.
  • ‘Club of the Year (Sport)’: Recognising clubs making significant contributions through sports and leisure activities.
  • ‘Club of the Year (Community)’: acknowledging clubs making significant contributions to the community.

Applications are open year-round, with a deadline at the end of April annually. Nominees will be invited to the town gathering held in May.

Nomination Forms

All nomination forms should be completed and sent to

Skip to content